DIY · FFOs

My Foxy Valentine or How to Canvas Mount

10

Here it is! My beautiful Foxy Boyfriend project. I feel like I’ve been working on it forever. I got the original idea back in November I think and it went through A LOT of incarnations and modifications before I found something I liked (thank you Reddit!) It was supposed to be a Christmas present, but I slacked and that didn’t happen. It’s a fairly quick project, two movies and 8 or 9 episodes of X Files. The assembly was done the day of Valentines Day, locked in my closet while my bf played video games after brunch :p

8
3
4
5
1
7
11
12

This was stitched 3 stranded on 16 count Pewter colored Aida

Words – DMC 3799
Fox Red – DMC 919
Fox Cream – DMC 739
Fox Brown – DMC 3371
Hearts – DMC 3777
Vines – DMC 469
Flower Petals – DMC 3768
Flower Centers – DMC 783

Pattern Available Here

———

I’m not really a follow-a-recipe type of girl and most of my DIY projects are a wing-it-and-see-what-happens type of venture. That’s exactly what I did here, and I got lucky because I think it looks pretty nice! I’ll do my best to explain what I did in case anyone else wants to give it a try. I took a lot of pictures to help, probably too many. I work best off of seeing other people’s examples rather than following other people’s instructions, personally. Comments and questions to clarify are encouraged (:

Okay, here we go!

Step 1: Gather Materials

IMG_1414

You will need:
-Clear Sewing Ruler
-Scissors
-Hammer
-Iron & Ironing Mat / Board
-Pencil
-Hot Glue Gun (Or fabric glue if you have more patience than me)
-Spray Bottle with Water (Optional, to help with ironing)
Dritz Decorative Nails, 11.11mm (I used 16, in Antique Brass)
-Felt (Optional for backing the canvas, I didn’t use it)
-Canvas (Mine is 8″ x  8″)
-Thread (I used 3 strands DMC 310 but it really doesn’t matter)
-Needle
-1 Nail
-Straight Pins (Not Pictured)

Step 2: Mark Canvas and Make Holes

Step2

Use your sewing ruler to mark a line down the center of the canvas. Then mark where you are going to put your decorative tacks. I spaced mine one inch from each of the edges and two inches from each other. So my marks are at 1″, 3″, 5″ & 7″.

Use your nail to make holes where the marks meet the center line. I decided to do it this way instead of directly nailing the tacks in because  I thought it would make the marking/spacing easier and because I didn’t want to dent/damage the tack heads.

Try to get the holes as straight as possible, but if they are a little off center DON’T WORRY. Trust me, we can fix it later. Some of mine were very crooked.

Step 3: Test the Tacks

step 3

I put my tacks in all the holes to make sure they were snug enough. Originally, I was going to glue them in but my nail holes ended up being the perfect size. Try to use a nail similar in diameter to your tacks, but you can also use a dab of glue and it will be hidden by the tack head on the FO.

Notice how crooked some of my holes are? No problem!

Step 4: Wash & Iron Your Fabric

step 4

Make sure your piece is totally dry at this point! I had to steam mine to get some wrinkles out, and it was just barely damp in the next few steps. I didn’t even notice until it started to get wrinkly again. If this happens to you, I ironed it while it was on the canvas with no problems! But I did have to re-stretch it a little and re-place the tacks. You will only be able to iron it again BEFORE you glue it down. Save yourself the headache and take your time on this step, don’t be impatient like me (:

Step 5: Center Your Fabric

 

step 5.1
It looks like fondant on a cake

I saw this on a professional framers video. He kept lightly stretching and tugging the fabric until it laid where he wanted it and creased the seams with his fingers. I kept counting how many aida-blocks of space I had between the design and the edges until it was even.

I tried marking the edges with straight pins so I knew where to line it up even… don’t do this. It’s a bad idea. It won’t seriously mess up your project, but it won’t make your life any easier either.

Step 6: Lace the Sides

step 6

Once you are sure it is even, carefully flip your piece over and pull the sides together. Lace the back together like you would if you were framing it. It doesn’t matter what color thread you use because we’ll be cutting it out after we put the tacks in.

step 6.1

Flip it over to make sure it still looks straight, this is your last chance to make it perfect

Step 7: Find the Holes

IMG_1441

IMG_1452

I found that it was a lot easier to find the holes with my needle or a straight pin first, then put the tacks in. I couldn’t see my marks through the fabric, so I used a ruler to find the approximate location.

Step 8: Put the Side Tacks In

IMG_1448

IMG_1460
Look at how crooked that nail is!

Pretty self explanatory. This is where I realized that my fabric had gotten wrinkly. I went over it with the iron, took out the tacks, tightened the lacing, and put the tacks back in.

Step 9: Lace the Top & Bottom

IMG_1463.JPG

This part is slightly trickier, fold in the extra fabric like wrapping a present and pin down at the corners. I forgot to get a better picture of this part. The part I folded down didn’t go over any of the tack holes, so this part doesn’t matter too much. We will be refolding the corners in the next steps.

IMG_1469

Lace it up tight just like the sides, and repeat Step 7 & 8. I went through all the folded over layers with my lacing to make sure everything was pulled as tight and straight as possible.

Step 10: Hammer the Tacks

Here’s where we fix all our mistakes in Step 1. Lightly hammer all of the tacks in place to secure them and straighten out the wonky bits.

IMG_1479.JPG

Much better!

Step 11: Glue Down the Back – Sides

I was in a rush so I accidentally skipped some photos here. Cut all the lacing on the back and throw it away. Take out the straight pins on the corners. Gently unfold the fabric to expose the back of the canvas. I started by gluing down the sides first. Cut the corners to make this easier. I used pinking shears to reduce fraying, but scissors will work fine as this will be covered up in the next step and protected.

IMG_1482

Run a line of hot glue along the wood of the canvas frame and, being sure to tug the fabric tight, press it onto the glue and tuck it under in between the canvas and the wood before the glue can dry. I used the head of one of my straight pins to push it in the gap.

IMG_1483

Repeat on the other side.

Step 12: Glue Down the Back – Top & Bottom

Again, this part is a little trickier. Start by folding in the corners like wrapping a present. I can’t really describe it better, but here are some pictures:

IMG_1485

IMG_1487

Cut off the extra fabric at the end, but make sure you have enough to tuck under the frame after you glue it. About 1-2cm is enough.

IMG_1489

Unfold it and cut off the excess fabric you folded in, to make it less bulky. Here is a picture of how much I cut off, with the pieces I cut off next to it. Basically a carefully placed rectangle.

IMG_1491

Re-fold your corners so it looks like the above picture again. I put a small dab of hot glue in the corners of the canvas where all the pieces of the folded fabric come together, for security. This step might not be necessary.

Glue and tuck into place, as in Step 11.

Step 13: Wrap, Hang & Admire!!

That’s it, you’re done! You can line the back of the canvas with felt if you like, but it turned out way neater than I expected so I left it.

IMG_1498

IMG_1495

IMG_1500

Please, if you end up using this tutorial, I wanna see what your projects look like! Share in the comments (: (:


You can find more information on the rest of my FFO’s here

Save

12 thoughts on “My Foxy Valentine or How to Canvas Mount

  1. This is awesome and really helpful, I was wondering if you had any tips or could make a tutorial on how to frame finished cross stitches? I don’t know what to do and there are some finished projects I would like to frame. 🙂 xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

