Magical Creatures SAL · WIPs

Magical Creatures SAL: February

I’ve just finished the second month of my Stitch-A-Long for Cloudsfactory’s Magical Creatures calendar. If you’re not familiar with it, each month is a different magical creature. February was the frog prince!

Feb

This was one of my favorite stories to read as a kid – my book had the version where the frog was thrown against the wall haha. I almost modified the square to fit the princess’ golden ball, but I didn’t want to make it too cluttered.

FIVEtwoSIXEIGHTNINESEVENTHREE

The fabric is 16 count tan aida from DoveStitch.

Substituted Colors:

Cauldron – DMC 3799
Cauldron Accent – DMC 3023
Magic Potion – DMC 115
Frog Body – DMC 733
Frog Legs – DMC 731
Frog Belly – DMC 3822
Frog Eyes – DMC 972
Crown – DMC 3852 & DMC E3852
Shelf – DMC 975
Left Potion – DMC 3051
Middle Potion – DMC 3811 & DMC 115
Right Potion – DMC 3834
Corks – DMC 3826
—–
Border – DMC 111
Month Names – DMC 301
Magical Sparkles – Kreinik 032

The crown was done with two strands of regular floss and one strand of metallic. I tweaked the potion bottles a bit from the original pattern.

PotionsMod

The spacing on the month name was a lot harder to figure out this month too, but I did it!

FebWords

I’m not in love with this square :/ the pattern is cute, but for some reason I just don’t like the potions. Hopefully March will be more satisfying!


This pattern is the Magical Creatures Calendar Sampler by CloudsFactory
You can find the rest of my Magical Creatures posts here
7 thoughts on “Magical Creatures SAL: February

  1. I like the modifications you made to the potion bottles – I think they look better without the labels and more defined. I can definitely relate to the trickery of counting out lettering – I struggle with that the most. It looks great!! (P.S. I love the close-up pics! White-thread-on-white-aida stitches always make me nuts…seems like low return on investment. Sometimes I use silver thread instead, if the pattern allows it. Could be soap bubbles, fairy dust, a sign of something that just disappeared… :). I love your work and I’m looking forward to checking out more!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! The white does kind of blend in, but it’s very sparkly so it stands out more in person (: Thankfully the lettering on March has a bunch of room so I won’t have to think so hard about it, but I have to tackle that huge corner of border. Ugh!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hear you on the in-person sparkle (and shadow). I did snowman Christmas tree ornaments one year and discovered the in-hand value of white-on-white shading. Yay for shorter month names! 🙂 Looking forward to next month’s stitching…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

