DIY · WIPs

How to Make a WIP Booklet

I know I’m not the only one with too many WIPs to keep track of! It’s a serious problem. I try to finish a WIP before I allow myself a new start, but we all know how that works out… It’s getting to be where WIP storage is becoming a problem. I usually keep them in page protector sleeves in my pattern binder, but the more WIPs I have, the less room I have in my pattern binder. And the fabric and threads never want to stay in the sleeve and the whole thing is just a mess! I decided that I needed a better solution. Lucky for me, the craft store just rolled out all of it’s cute Spring colored items (:

Before:

After:

a3

The zipper lock bags were a cheap and easy solution to having my WIPs constantly falling out of the sleeves.

I made my booklet with 30 pages (more than enough for me) but it could easily fit more.

I wanted mine to be a specific size (and cute!) so I made the cover boards as well, but you could skip those steps and just make the baggy inserts (Step 9) for a regular binder if you wanted to save some time. The items in bold are the ones you will need if you are only making the inserts.

You Will Need:

  • Four 12″x12″ pieces scrapbook paper (I used Recollections “Multi Prism Hearts” and “Rainbow Triangles”)
  • 8 1/2″x11″ pieces of card stock – one piece will make four pages (I used BAZZILL in “Banana Split”, “Easter Grass”, “Robin’s Egg”, “Candy Hearts” and “Atlantis”)
  • Foam Board
  • Three 2″-3″ Binder rings (You can use the ones that come with bobbin packs)
  • 1/4″ ribbon
  • Glue
  • Grommet gun & Grommets (optional)
  • Mod Podge & brush
  • Slider zip lock bags, Gallon size (I used 30)
  • Hole punch
  • Rotary blade, X-Acto knife or box cutter
  • Clear sewing ruler (or a regular ruler)
  • Bone folder (not pictured)
  • Paper cutter (or scissors)
  • Stapler

Step 1: Measure Your Cover Boards

The foam board is what I used as the base for my booklet covers. To make the covers, measure your zipper lock bags and add 1/2 inch to the width and the length.

For example: My bags are 10 5/8″ x 11 1/4″ so adding 1/2″ to the width and length would make it 11 1/8″ x 11 3/4″

Measure and mark this new measurement on your foam board:

step01

Double check that your measurements are correct. If you lay your zipper lock bag in the square, there should be about 1/4 of extra space on all sides.

step02

Step 2: Cut Your Cover Boards

Cut out two of these foam board pieces. A box cutter or X-acto blade used with your sewing ruler is the best option. Go slowly, going over the lines multiple times, don’t press too hard and your lines should be nice and clean.

I couldn’t find my box cutter, so I used a rotary blade. My edges were pretty messy, but it turned out okay in the end. Remember, your edges will be covered by paper and ribbon.

step03

Figure out the orientation of your boards. I marked mine with the long edges, short edges and which side the holes would go in just to make sure I didn’t accidentally put my scrap book paper on the wrong way.

step04

Step 3: Punch Holes in Your Cover Boards

Draw a line 5/8 of an inch from the edge on the side you want to punch the holes in

step06

Using something already hole punched (I used one of my old page protectors), line up the holes with the line you made and mark where the holes go.

step07a

My grommets are bigger than my hole punch, so I traced them at each of the intersections so I knew how big of a hole to punch in each spot.

step08a

step09a

Punch out the holes – it took me about four punches in each hole to get them the right size. Take care – if you make the hole too small, your grommets won’t fit and if you make them too big the grommets won’t be secure.

step11

Step 4: Cut Your Cover Paper

Take the measurement you came up with in Step 1 and add another 1/8″

For example: My measurement was 11 1/8″ x 11 3/4″ so adding 1/8″ to the width and length would make it 11 1/4″ x 11 7/8″

Cut your scrapbook paper to this size, making sure the orientation is correct (I wanted my hearts going up and down – so I had to make sure the height was the short side and the width was the long side)

step05

Step 5: Clue Your Cover Paper to Your Cover Boards

Mod podge the inside pages onto the foam board, folding the edges of the paper over as much as possible (we will glue them down before we put the ribbon on)

step13a

Let dry completely and repeat with the front pages.

step14

Step 6: Clean Up the Edges

Fold over and glue all the edges down to make a nice flat foundation for your ribbon to go on.

step18

Step 7: Add Grommets to Your Cover Boards

Grommet time! I cleared the holes first by pushing a pencil through them, then placed the grommets. They are optional, but will make the covers a lot stronger.

step15b

Step 8: Add Ribbon Trim

Glue that ribbon down, and your covers are done!

step19

Step 9: Make the Pages

Now time to make your baggy insert pages.

Cut your card stock into 11″ x 2″ pieces

step12

Using a bone folder and your sewing ruler, crease and fold the card stock strips in half.

step16

Using your hole punch template again from Step 3, mark all the pieces with where your hole punches will go.

step17b

I stapled all of my bags first, and then went back and hole punched them all. Do whatever works best for you! In the end, it should look something like this:

step20
Four staples and three holes

Step 10: Assemble & Admire

When I added the pages, I flipped them so that each page had the zipper part on the top, then bottom, top, bottom… so it wouldn’t be too bulky

 

As always, I’d love to see what yours looks like when it’s finished! ❤

6 thoughts on “How to Make a WIP Booklet

    1. Cross stitch is a great and easy one! It’s like a combination of coloring, doing a puzzle and knitting haha. It can be very relaxing. WIP means Work In Progress – I’ve seen it used to refer to any craft project in progress, not just cross stitch (:

      Like

Leave a Reply

