WIPs

Stitch Maynia 2016!

I know most stitchers are familiar with Stitch Maynia, but if you haven’t heard of it – these crazy people start a bunch of new stitches in the month of May. Some people are doing one start a day for the entire month, and others are doing one start a day for the entire YEAR!! I don’t know where they find the time or money for all that stash, but it must be amazing.

I REALLY want to join in, but I already have…. 7? 8? WIPS I’m working on, and I just don’t have the time or money to kit up any more projects. But then I thought, who said they have to be full sized projects?? So I made a little list of mini projects (and one full sized project) that I plan to do for Maynia. I’m so excited to be a part of it!!

1. Happily Ever After

11059866_1162020150477090_7693355771555390283_nThis pattern is from Cross Stitch Crazy magazine, it’s my biggest project for Maynia. I’m making it for my very dear friends that just got married in February, so it’s already on my to-do list anyway. And it doubles as a start for my May Flowers SAL in the Pacific Northwest Stitchers group on Facebook!

2. – 8. Microkits

13007109_1174540965891675_7184557982153453398_nI saw these patterns last year on Reddit and I immediately fell in love with them. Technically I started the ghost one a couple days ago, but I can use each kitty as a new start. I also converted two more kitties from the original artists page (: They’re super tiny starts, and they only take a day or two to finish so I don’t have to feel guilty about it.
astronaut_microkit_by_hyraea-d4buls5robot_microkit_by_hyraea-d4dl7q9

9. Chrono Trigger Frog

il_570xN.501837825_27am

I bought this pattern a while back, but haven’t decided what to do with it yet. My boyfriend wants a Frog patch, so I’ll start that one on my plastic canvas too.

10. Christmas Pikachu

Christmas Pikachu real

And lastly, this little guy has been on my list for a long time as well, I just haven’t been able to find any 14 count plastic canvas where I live. Now that I have some, there’s no reason not to start him!

———

Maynia plan part 2: The backup plan

I also made a back up Maynia plan because, looking through my WIPs I realized I already have an overwhelming amount of projects started and I’m in the mood for FFO’s not new starts! I have never done a rotation before, so my back up plan instead of 10 new starts is to pick 5 projects to work in a rotation.

Week 1 (May 1-7): Magical Creatures April Block

12592510_1166940649985040_7724970826162040610_n

I was bad (sort of) this month and focused all my energy on my mom’s mothers day present, my Shallan, and a slew of new starts. I started the April block, but I didn’t get very far. I don’t see this taking more than a week to complete, so hopefully I finish early and I can move on in my rotation

Week 2 (May 8-14): Sleepy Kitty

IMG_3135

I started this forever ago when I released the pattern and I put it on hold because I couldn’t get the fur color right. Now that I bought some GAST threads in the perfect fur color, I think I’m ready to pick it up again. Hopefully I get done with my April block before week 1 is out so I get a little extra time to work on this one

Week 3 (May 15-21): Autumn Greetings

IMG_3139

I’m afraid the Sleepy Kitty might get a little tiresome, so I want to reward myself in week 3 with my favorite kind of stitch – Fall themed!! I’m loving how this one is turning out. I only set it aside because my 6×6 qsnap was too small to work the border. Now that I have a nice big 11×11, I’m hoping to make TONS of progress on this little guy

EDIT: Week 4 (May 22-28): Civil War Quilt

IMG_3141

Somehow when I was doing this before, I accidentally skipped a week! I’m adding in my Jane Stickley quilt to work on (:

Week 5 (May 29-31): Magical Creatures May Block

mar

For the last few days in May, I’m going to start on my May block for the SAL. I know I got myself behind in April, but hopefully I can get all caught up again by the end of June.

 

Whichever plan I decide to go with, I’m excited to be a part of Stitch Maynia this year!!

8 thoughts on “Stitch Maynia 2016!

  1. Great plans!
    I find it much easier to little projects for these crazy times… free kits that come with the UK magazine work well for me during Stitch Maynia! I would never be able to do 15 full sized starts – I have way too many WIP’s on the go now as it is!
    See you on the other side of Maynia :o)
    Hugs xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have never heard of stitch mania, but sounds like creating more WIP’s to me. I’m like you, wanting to get my WIP’s finished. I too have been thinking about a rotation so, your plan B sounds perfect. Your stitching’s are looking great. The Magical Creatures is really looking awesome! Love that dragon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

