DIY

My Q Snap Project Bag

After seeing the Q-snap pouches everyone has been making (The Evergreen Needle!) I decided I needed to have one. For some reason my cat LOVES to sleep on top of my projects. I never see him doing it, but I come home to stretched out and sunken fabric in my Q-snap. Not good!

005
D’artagnan-proof!

I’m not going to make this an official tutorial because I don’t really know what I’m doing when it comes to sewing, and I’m sure there are some good how-to’s out there already (though I couldn’t find any). If you’re sewy savvy, I’ll provide the dimensions and I’m sure you can put it together yourself. (Just be warned – my dimensions are too small to hold an 11″ x 11″ Q snap!!)

004
Pictured with a 6″ x 11″ Q snap – it fits two of these comfortably, plus my pattern(s) and bobbin rings.

I made this to hold two 11″ Q-snaps cause that’s my favorite size. I put a little pocket flap in between to keep them from rubbing up on each other. The lining fabric that I used was from an old curtain, so my measurements don’t account for hemming allowances.

006.JPG

Front fabric – two 14″ x 14″ pieces
Lining fabric – two 14″ x 14″ pieces
Pocket fabric – one 14″ x 13″ piece (AFTER hemming; hemmed on one of the long sides)
One invisible zipper, 12″ – 14″

(If I were to try this again – I would do 16″ pieces of fabric, or bigger)

Fumble it all together and voila, fancy new project bag!

There are definitely some changes I would make if I did this again in the future. For some reason I had a brain fart and forgot to sew the inner and outer fabrics together as a panel and flipping them out before I attached the zipper (if that makes sense) so the raw edges of the fabric are all exposed on the inside of my bag. Not a huge deal! And honestly I could fix it if I really wanted to.. but I don’t haha.

The bigger issue I would fix is that it’s just too small to hold an 11″ Q snap. I don’t know where I went wrong, I measured twice and added in extra room for good measure and it still wasn’t enough! Seriously, if you want to make this for an 11×11 – make it a lot bigger!! If I had two 8″ x 8″ snaps, I think it would hold them perfectly. It works great holding two 11″ x 6″ Q snaps, plus my patterns and bobbin rings.

I also recently saw a version of a Q snap bag that has the zipper run around the entire corner seam of the pouch so you don’t have to try and shove it in the top – Genius!!

Live and learn!

If anyone knows of any good tutorials out there, I’d love to take another crack at this – my 11″ Q Snap is still prone to dirty little kitty paws.

One thought on “My Q Snap Project Bag

Leave a Reply

