FFOs

FFO Friday #12: Star Snow Charmer

0001

The Mill Hill obsession continues! I’ve been on a kind of “Christmas in July” kick lately, and this is the second ornament I have finished for it – Star Snow Charmer from the Snow Charmer line of Mill Hill Kits. I found someone on eBay cleaning out their stash for cheap and I snagged this guy and two others that I can’t wait to start.

Honestly, I didn’t love this little guy when I first started him. He’s simple and kind of boring to stitch, but by the end of it he grew on me. He’ll definitely look cute on the tree this year! I’m thinking of making two other Snow Charmers so he isn’t all alone – I love that floppy knit winter hat!

Like my other Mill Hill’s, I traded out the perforated paper for good ol’ plastic canvas.

This was my first time working with the fringe stitch – the part on the ends of his scarf. It was simple enough, but it was a NIGHTMARE trying to get six strands of floss through the same hole 4 times. In the end, I think it looks really cute but in my frustration I had to give one end of his scarf 3 fringe loops instead of 4. He’s also supposed to have a little heart charm on his scarf, but I left it off because I felt like it didn’t quite fit.

0003

The bugle beads were annoying as well  (also a first for me) because I felt they were a little too long – they’re supposed to be the length of 4 stitches, but they were more like 5 so it was a bit of a squeeze.

This was also my first time working a piece in parts that had to be attached after finishing. I’m not sure how much I liked that part of it. I attached the star with stitches, but it was ridiculously difficult to get the needle to go through two layers of holes. I decided to make it easier on myself and glue the hat on. I forgot to leave a tab on top of his head for the hat to attach to, so I had to perform a little bit of snow-brain surgery.

0002

It’s also my first time FFO-ing an ornament. I used Calico’s finishing method and bought an assortment of eye pins from the jewelry section. It came with 1″, 1.5″ & 2″ eye pins but I’ve only been using the 1.5″ – they seem to be the perfect size.

0004

Once he was all assembled, I backed him with white sparkly (trust me it’s very sparkly!) felt and sandwiched an eye pin in between.

0005

I let it dry overnight, trimmed the edges, and threaded it with some sheer, sparkly bridal ribbon.

0001

Done and all ready for Christmas! Now I just need to make him some friends (:


You can find more information on the rest of my FFO’s here

Save

Save

5 thoughts on “FFO Friday #12: Star Snow Charmer

Leave a Reply

