Magical Creatures SAL · WIPs

Magical Creatures SAL: May

You guys.. I made it. I FINALLY finished May. Nevermind that it’s almost August.. I’m so happy to be done with it! All the tiny little color changes and 6 stitches here, 4 stitches there – it was driving me crazy! Finally, one night I sat down and forced myself to finish. I finished on July 20th, and then took forever to blog about it :p

0003

0000

The fabric is 16 count tan aida from DoveStitch.


Substituted Colors:

Wizard Clothes – DMC 803
#” – DMC 938
Gold (crystal ball, podium corners, owl) – DMC 3852
Red (book mark, ottoman cushion) – DMC 817
Potion Stand – DMC 3787
Book Pages – DMC Ecru
Wizard Hair – DMC 762
Wizard Eyes – DMC 169
Wizard Skin – DMC 739
Glass – DMC 775
” (DMC 301) – DMC 300
Bird House – DMC 437
Bird House Hole – DMC 3371
Owl Body – DMC 780
Owl Accents – DMC 433
Owl Feet & Beak – DMC 3828
Owl Eyes – Silk DMC 3820
Potions – DMC 52 & DMC 4050
Feather Quill – DMC 3024 & DMC 640
——
Border – DMC 111
Month Names – DMC 301
Magical Sparkles – Kreinik 032

0006

Here is my alphabet for the May block:

SAL May

There are a few things I wish I had done differently – and I’ll probably fix them at some point. The back stitch on the test tube is loose and will definitely have to be re-done; I wish the owl’s eyes were black in the center instead of yellow so they pop a little more; and I accidentally made the wizard have little eyes instead of the characteristic-cloudsfactory-rectangle-eyes. Now I just have to decide if I want them all to have little eyes or big eyes – I kind of like the little eyes! I might change the wizard’s eye color though, I thought icy grey was cool at the time but it kind of just blends in.

00070005

I already frogged at least three of the books on the shelves, so those are staying as-is. I added little sparkly gold detail to the books – isn’t that cute?? The books were stitched with randomly grabbed ORTS from my jar.

0004

Speaking of frogs, I went back to my February block and fixed the frog’s crown. The way the metallic stitches looked was driving me CRAZY so I replaced them with a DMC silk. I LOVE it!! It gives the perfect amount of shine without looking too bulky or awkward ❤

The June and July blocks look so fun – and QUICK! I better get to work –

DSCN0888.JPG


This pattern is the Magical Creatures Calendar Sampler by CloudsFactory
You can find the rest of my Magical Creatures posts here
12 thoughts on “Magical Creatures SAL: May

Leave a Reply

