Magical Creatures SAL · WIPs

Magical Creatures SAL: June

june.png

I’m slowly catching up! Here is my June block, with pictures taken in poor lighting (sorry) because I really want to get started on July. My goal is to finish August in August so I can be all caught up (:

001

June’s creatures were dragons and I’ve been looking forward to stitching them since December! I’ve known the whole time what colors I wanted to stitch them in, and had an idea of how I wanted to change the castle.

005

I think one of the most challenging parts about this stitch was finding different shades of cream for the castle that didn’t blend too much into each other or the background. I think it turned out adorable!

002b.JPG

There weren’t any pretty sparklies in this month (I think the clouds were supposed to be the specialty thread) so I added some shiny scales in the mama dragon. I don’t love the color of her horns, but I just couldn’t decide. I might go back and change them later.

006

fullview

The fabric is 16 count tan aida from DoveStitch.


Substituted Colors:

Big Dragon – DMC 4050
Little Dragon – DMC 4030
Spines – DMC Satin 3820
Bellies – DMC 445
Horns – DMC 809
Eyes – DMC 336 & DMC 934
Wings – DMC 3705
Clouds – DMC BLANC
Grass – DMC 580
Flowers – DMC 48
Front Towers – DMC 3866,
Back Towers – DMC 3024
Windows – DMC 3799
Front Roof – DMC 817
Back Roof – DMC 3777
Wall – DMC 822
Crenelations – DMC 3023, backstitched in DMC 646
Door/Gate – DMC 433
——
Border – DMC 111
Month Names – DMC 301
Magical Sparkles – Kreinik 032

The words on this one were scrunched no matter how I tried to place them. I frogged it FOUR times, and eventually stuck with this –

007b.JPG

june

Thankfully, July is another tiny little block – that should take no time at all to complete!


This pattern is the Magical Creatures Calendar Sampler by CloudsFactory
You can find the rest of my Magical Creatures posts here
4 thoughts on “Magical Creatures SAL: June

Leave a Reply

